3DPrinting of Pattern Bars (and perhaps Rosettes)?

I see that Makerbot's new Replicator 2 will print objects up to 11" long, 6" wide and 6" high. This is well within the size of the pattern bars for Kenlocs and perhaps for Plant SL's too. The manufacturer claims the resolution is 100 microns and that the result, in PLA filament, is so smooth there is no requirement for sanding or other post production finishing. Leaving aside the learning curve the price is $2199, about the cost of a cheap laptop.

Is anyone out there considering 3d printing to make pattern bars (or rosettes)? Is PLA filament strong enough to act as a durable pattern bar for a hobbiest?

I realize Makerbot is just one of several 3D printer manufacturers but their price is attractive and I'm told they have good customer support.

I'm not technically well versed in3D printing, although I have seen them in operation using home- made machines. The technology is becoming a really big deal in the jewellery trade, which is trying hard to make the techniques accessible to a broader audience. See, for example, http://3dprintshow.com/home

Any comments by those of you who are more knowledgeable would be appreciated.

BTW, if this has already been considered somewhere else in the OTI Forums, please direct me. Thanks.
Ramsay

I've been watching 3D printers for a number of years now as a possible tool for jewellery making. There are some interesting DIY and low cost printers on the market, and they are getting significantly better. Based on what I've seen, none of them would produce a product that would be suitable for a pattern bar (I'm talking about the high end ones as well). The issue you'll run into is the steps between layers. Those layers will cause variations in your cuts. Not to mention that the material isn't designed for this kind of use, and will wear quickly.